Do not stand at my grave and weep

3 Oct

Went to celebrate my fiance’s cousin’s birthday last Saturday and passed by the graveyard where his grandmother’s grave is. It’s such a beautiful grave; his grandfather designed the grave stone and his auntie had put some really lovely coloured flowers there. I then came to think about a poem by Mary Elizabeth Frye, that I so loved when my own grandma passed away 7 yrs ago.

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft star-shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.
-Mary Elizabeth Frye, 1932
2 Responses to “Do not stand at my grave and weep”

  1. poundlandprincess October 3, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    That poem makes me cry everytime. What a beautiful grave too – you can see by the effort that gone into making it that she was a well loved lady.

    • Lee Castillio October 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Thank you for your lovely comment! I’m sure it is true, but sadly I never got to meet that lady in person. 😦

Leave a Reply

