Mio My Mio, the song that never gets old

10 Feb

The first song I remember I loved as a child. I was only 6 years old when it came out in 1987, but still have the vinyl single! Still love the song and gives me the chills especially when listening to it in my native language. The song is preformed by Karin Glenmark, singer of the group Gemini, and written by Björn & Benny of the Swedish group ABBA (Who is also famous for writing the music to CHESS – the musical). Never saw the movie, but the book was one of the first books I read myself as a young child. I love Astrid Lindgren’s books. Btw, at the bottom I gave a translation to the Swedish version, it’s a little different from the English one.

English version:

 

Swedish version:

 

Through the garden of roses, with its silver poplars – I’m walking with my father, holding his hand so tight. And from the highest tree I hear a lonely bird – singing about the cruel Land of Faraway. And my heart is trembling when I hear my father’s voice: Mio my Mio.

The night falls at the garden of roses, and I can see my bird taking off towards the sky. It flies straight to the sky on its wide wings. (He’s) flying towards the dark Land of Faraway. And my heart is trembling when I hear my father’s voice: Mio, my Mio. Mio my Mio.

 

3 Responses to “Mio My Mio, the song that never gets old”

  1. John February 10, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

    This is a nice song, great words. Listened a bit to both versions and admit I have never heard the song. The Swedish version sounds better even though I don’t understand but a tiny bit. Hope you are well. 🙂

  2. paevdali February 11, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    I’m fairly certain I’ve seen the movie at some point, when I was very young, but I can’t really say I recall anything from it, other than the theme-song.

    It’s definitely a hidden musical gem in Swedish cinema, or perhaps in Swedish music overall. I did not know it was written by Björn and Benny though.

    Hold on tight to that vinyl single, if it isn’t already it ought to become a valuable collectible some day 😉

    • Lee Castillio February 11, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

      Gonna grab it from my parents house as soon as I go back to my hometown again, along with my Pet Shop Boys vinyls as well! 😉

Leave a Reply

