Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

11 Feb

old picture 2

Some say home is where your heart is, and those words instantly makes me think about my ancestors who left Sweden for America in the early 20th century. They came to Ellis Island/New York as all immigrant did, and then moved to Chicago/Illinois according to my late grandmother. My grandmother always talked about “those who left”, primarily her uncle, and how she almost went to join them in the States in the 40’s, but finally decided to stay in Sweden.

My grandmother is gone since 8 years, and I never got to ask her properly about her relatives. I’ve done some half-heartedly attempts to find records of where they all ended up and if there are some people left who’re related to me, but never got as far as to the date my uncle boarded the ship from Sweden.

My head is full of those questions for “those who left”; Hello, how are you? Did you peacefully find your home in the States, or did you leave your heart in Småland/Sweden? I have a photo of some of you, I don’t know really who you are, but one of the cards has an old hand-writing on the backside of it, saying: “Greetings from those who left”… This photo is, to me, my unknown relatives in the U.S.

This is my contribution to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Home. Hope you liked it. Wanna be a part of it, look here.

2 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Home”

  1. Shu @travelographers February 12, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Vintage and Very Nice..
    Home is a place you feel peaceful

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge – Home | Beyond Beauty Tips - February 27, 2013

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Home « Lee Castillio […]

Leave a Reply

