Vintage Style Music

18 Mar

I actually ordered some CDs since in November. They had to be imported from the states and took some while to get, but when I got them I listened to them around the clock! As you already know, I’m really into Spage Age Pop, Old Goodies, Vintage Music, Bachelor Pad Music and Exotica. So I ordered a couple of CDs, which are brilliant:

Persuasive Percussion - LP Front

Persuasive Percussion preformed by Terry Snyder and The All Stars. This Album contains both the albums of Persuasive Percussion 1 & 2. The First album was released in 1959 and the second one in 1960.

Terry Snyder was born in New York and started working as a 16-year-old as a drummer for different bands. But he is most famous for those Persuasive Percussion albums, under the direction of the great “Mister Stereo” Enoch Light.

Unfortunately Terry Snyder died in 1963, but hence to that he lived to see that the first album sold a half million copies in the first year after its release, and there after averaging 150.000 sales per year during a few years. By 1965 the album had sold about 1 million copies.

enough_light_import-va-16509752-frntI also bought the Enoch Light produced album, preformed by Terry Snyder and The All Stars called 5 Top Albums – Persuasive Percussion 1,2 & 3 – Provocative Percussion 1 & 2. By then, I didn’t realise I ordered a double, but in this one I got more. So thinking about giving away the Persuasive Percussion in the future.

This album contains really great works, and is all of Enoch Lights work with Terry Snyder. The Provocative Percussion is the second release of Persuasive Percussion and contains some great songs as well, even though my absolutely fave is the first in the series.

The+Very+Best+of+Astrud+Gilberto+II+41DpAG17SoL_AA240_The last album I bought, but not least in The Very Best Of Astrud Gilberto, an Brazilian jazz/bossanova singer. I got stuck by the song “The Girl From Ipanema”, “Crickets Sings For Anamaria” and most of all “Call Me” – just love that song!

An odd thing to know is that the American Hip-hop group Black Eyes Peas sampled her song “Who Can I Turn To?” in their song “Like That” from their album Monkey Business from the year of 2005.

So I highly recommend you to get those albums! They are a must in a vintage music library!

3 Responses to “Vintage Style Music”

  1. paevdali March 21, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Nice! Nothing beats listening to a freshly imported album for the first time! 😉

    I’m familiar with “The Girl From Ipanema” but aside from that, it’s a far cry from what you’d find me usually listening to (but then again I guess I’m not really aiming for a vintage music library, in that sense :D).

    It’s always interesting to read about music (especially non-mainstream music) from someone with a genuine interest though, and an extra thumbs up for purchasing real physical albums! 😉

    • Lee Castillio March 22, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

      Thank’s Packe! I guess we are few still left with that obsession of an actual CD! As you know I am a true reactionista and last week I downloaded from iTunes for the first time in my life! I just can’t find the joy in buying music in that way, but had to since I must have music in my job as a water aerobics instructor. Well, it’s great you can buy just one song or so instead of an entire album, and it’s great we’ve come so far in a sense. But getting an actual CD and unwrap it the first time, putting it into the computer or CD-player, just beats everything else! 😉 I will give more music recommendations onwards, so stay tuned. Maybe it will pop up something you like regardless! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 13-05-04 | paevdali - May 4, 2013

    […] givetvis i huvudsak handlar om min egen. Detta möjliggör att jag hypotetiskt kan s.k. reblogga inlägg som jag anser läsvärda med relevans för huvudämnet. Men än så länge har jag fegat ur på just den punkten (delvis av […]

Leave a Reply

